ON AUGUST 1, 2017 over 400 new laws took effect in Louisiana.
The “Blue Lives Matter” bill is the first of its kind in the state, which makes it a hate crime to target any law enforcement officer, active or retired, or first responder in the state.
Convicted sex offenders in Louisiana will now have to provide all email addresses, online screen names/profiles and IP addresses used in online communications to authorities. Further, they can no longer solicit door-to-door. Violators will face five to 10 years in prison.
TICKETS AND FINES:
Minors engaging in sales do not have to pay an occupational tax if the sales are under $500 per year.
Seatbelt violations increased from $25 to $50 for a first offense, and $75 each time after.
A victim of a violation in which their identity or personal information was unlawfully used do not have to pay any fee to have their records expunged as long as they have no felony convictions or felony charges pending.
Underage drinkers no longer face jail time, but can still be cited and faced with a fine up to $100 without the citation appearing on their criminal record.
Facilities will utilize an official symbol to identify emergency care locations designated in the Safe Haven Law.
The Department of Education can now require criminal background checks for any owners, employees, volunteers, and inspectors of early learning centers.
High schools in certain parishes are required to keep automated external defibrillators on their premises.
Exotic dancers must now be 21 years of age instead of 18 years of age in order to work in strip clubs.
National Human Trafficking Resource Center hotline information is now required to be posted at hotels.
To see a list of all of the laws that went into effect today, visit www.legis.la.gov.